A Long Way To Blow A Kiss by ANT

A Long Way To Blow A Kiss

Released on 29/04/2002

Fortune and Glory Records (UK)

11 song CD album 


01. The Trick

02. Maybe Love Will Return

03. Any Girl Can Make Me Smile

04. History

05. When I Need You To

06. Waste The Days Away

07. A Long Way To Blow A Kiss

08. I Always Hurt The One That I Love

09. Every Drop Of Rain

10. Today As Yesterday

11. April Rain


Recorded at home in an upstairs bedroom in Bermondsey & a downstairs kitchen in Stratford between April 1999 & September 2001 on a Roland VS840 digital 8 track studio, mixed to DAT.

Wurlitzer and backing vocals on song 7 were recorded at Cushy Productions in Stockwell London by Suzanne Rhatigan. Mastered at Transfermation at London Bridge in September 2001 by Richard Dowling. Featuring: ANT on vocals, guitars, electric keyboard, drum machine, percussion, balalaika, ukulele-banjo and harmonica. John Morrison on bass guitar & Suzanne Rhatigan on backing vocals and Wurlitzer piano (7).

The whole album drifts by like a sunny day - SOUNDSXP.

Beautifully uncompromising and simplistic, a real joy - SLANT MAGAZINE.

Recorded with an enthusiastic cheapness which enhances its appeal no end – ROCKSOUND. 

A minor (key) masterpiece - GOLDFLAKE PAINT.

Wonderfully charming solo debut – THE HERALD OBSERVER.

Draped in loveliness, a national treasure – TWEEKITTEN.

Possibly the loveliest album of the year so far – UNIVERSITY OF TEESIDE STUDENTS UNION MAG.

A blinding, lovingly crafted debut album, lovelorn songs layered with gorgeous acoustic strums, a stunning raw talent, Antony Harding is someone we will be hearing plenty more about – CITY LIGHTS.

ANT proves a delicate little joy – he should consider giving up the day job – TELETEXT.

Just about the perfect long lost rejection, ex-girlfriend/boyfriend record you'll ever hear, trust me – TASTY FANZINE.

A tender, wistful acoustic bedsit shuffle of songs about love rain & loneliness - CARELESS TALK COSTS LIVES.

Delicate, bittersweet love songs fused with beautiful acoustic resonance – PENNY BLACK MUSIC.

ANT inhabits the bittersweet territory of Nick Drake & Clifford T Ward, evocative of wide open spaces and a warm spring breeze - The best drummer’s album you’ll ever hear! – LOGO MAGAZINE.